Painting with a click

1970629_10154740694120006_1578735481906986186_n

©Sharanya Manola; Somewhere after the Jageswar temple, Almora, Uttarakhand

For someone like me, who can barely draw a line, a camera is an equivalent of a paint brush. Whenever I go home my sensory receptors go crazy and want to soak up everything: from the spring-born leaves to fragile twigs. For an obvious reason perhaps this is my most favourite photograph. I time-travel every time I see it.

I can feel the texture of the rings of a tree trunk and cover myself in the ochre-yellow of withered leaves and pale grass. With ‘today’ and ‘yesterday’ intertwined in my bagful of memories, I feel more alive than I will ever be.

April 2014 ~

Leave a Reply

